Macaroons – Baking meringue cookies in South Indian way

IMG_8354

I first tasted these cookies at our friends place, and carried away instantly. I was awed by pure taste and texture of this cookie. Gathered details from the friend, she told me that they bought it from Tuticarin, Tamil Nadu, and she know a very little about the preparation process.

To my surprise, she packed few of those macaroons as a take away, when we left her place. Such a SWEET gesture 🙂

IMG_8349

I came back, promptly packed it in an airtight container and  forgot about it, until she called me to check whether we liked them. Oh gosh, my olvidadizo. I opened the box and relished the dish once again, and  decided to create them in my kitchen. And you know, it’s not difficult to dig the details with Google god. Ofcourse found enough information  to prepare one, by myself.

IMG_8353

Once I created these meringue cookies, I had an urge to share it with all my dear ones. Packed some for my sisters and some for friends, and without out mentioning, the box emptied really fast.

IMG_8356

I don’t call this a perfect recipe,  as the cookies didn’t hold the desired shape. However it was identical in taste. I would need to give it one more try. I welcome your expertise comments to better these cookies.

Recipe:

  • 2 Egg whites
  • 100 gms of fine sugar (I used the icing sugar -You may adjust the sugar to taste)
  • a drop of fresh lime or lemon juice
  • 50 gms cashew nuts finely crushed

Method: Pre heat the oven at 100 degree celsius ( 210 degree fahrenheit)

Beat the egg whites in medium-high speed until it holds the soft peaks. Fold in the sugar, add a drop of lemon juice and continue to beat untill very stiff peaks are formed. Carefully fold in the crushed cashew nuts without deflating the meringue-sugar mix.

Transfer the batter to a piping bag and pipe it, in cone shape, on a greased baking tray. (Alternatively, use the parchment paper on the baking tray, as it would be easier to take out the cookies once done)

Bake for 75-90 minutes, or until the cookies turn pale brown. Switch off the oven and slightly open the door,  let the cookies rest in the oven for another 60-90 minutes.Take out the tray from the oven and let it cool completely, before storing it in the jars. Kept in airtight container, these would store well for 2 weeks without refrigeration.

This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes & Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

