Fusili bucati pasta – over cooked, with vegetables and pesto

Pasta is always special for me, for many reasons. One of the reasons being, I got the opportunity to learn/watch the pasta making in Italian kitchens, and could replicate that in my kitchen.

Pasta1

Idea for this pasta, comes from an old Italian lady, who was travelling with me in Dubai-Paris route. A last-minute flight booking done at the counter, I couldn’t put my food preferences. Unfortunately, in-flight services could provide me a few salad leaves and cheese,(the name of which I couldn’t recollect now, but will fill this section sometime, as I have that beautiful cover lying with my mom even today), as they are the only vegetarian options available. I appreciate the efforts put in by my fellow traveler lady, to find out some vegetarian food I can eat.

pasta2

Okay, with all these diverting stories, (really, I have such long story to tell about this journey, may be will come back with it, if I happened to cook anything with that goat cheese :), we started talking about what we eat, and how it’s getting cooked etc. I got the over cooked south Italian pasta concept from my fellow traveler lady, who was coming back from a spiritual trip to Udupi Mat. I instantly loved the idea of these soft soft pastas getting laid on my table.

pasta3

I adapted it to suit my Indian palate, believe me, it soon became a frequent visitor on our breakfast table.

Fusili bucati pasta – over cooked, with veggies and pesto

  • 1/2 kg of Fusili bucati pasta
  • 1 cup of diced vegetables of your choice, I used carrots, asparagus and broccoli.
  • 3-4 table spoons of pesto (I used a local French brand named “monoprix”)
  • 2 table spoons of vegetable oil/o
  • 1/2 tea-spoon  salt (you may adjust it to your taste)
  • 1 table-spoon of lime juice

Cook the pasta as per the manufacture’s instructions, and cook for few more minutes. In this case until the fusili starts slightly separating when you stir.

In a wok, heat a table-spoon of oil, and add diced vegetables and salt. Fry the vegetables on a high flame, for 4-5 minutes. (This time may vary, depending upon the vegetables and the size of the diced vegetables.)

Mix the pasta with vegetables, add the pesto, lime juice and remaining oil and give it a good stir. Switch on the flame and heat it for a minute or less. Serve it hot.

This entry was posted in Pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

